Menu

How to Stop Android Apps from Accessing Your Location

Stop Android apps from Accessing Your Location

We carry smartphones everywhere we go. But do you know that the apps you installed on the device track your each and every moment? It monitors and stores your personal data including places you visit, shops you entered, movies you watched and many more.

We won’t bother if it’s for security purpose. Such tracking will help you to recover a lost or stolen phone. But Facebook-like apps track your location to serve location-based ads and boost their business. It is totally an unhealthy practice. If you are really concerned about privacy, stop those apps from spying on you.

In this post, we’ll tell you how to stop Android apps from accessing your location.

Open Android settings first.

Tap the first option Connections (Android Nougat or higher).

Scroll down to locate Location. High accuracy will be selected by default. Click on it.

Now you will be directed to a new screen where you can change the locating method. There are three kinds of tracking methods are available.

Stop Android apps from Accessing Your Location

High accuracy- Uses GPS, WiFi and mobile networks to estimate your location.

Battery saving- Uses WiFi and mobile networks to estimate your location (No GPS)

Phone only- Uses GPS to estimate your location (No WiFi and mobile networks)

Choose a method based on your usage type and requirement. These are the common settings for the device. To restrict apps from accessing your location, you have to manage app permissions as well.

Go to Settings > Apps to set individual app permissions. Tap three dots you saw in the top right corner of Apps screen.

Stop Android apps from Accessing Your Location

Stop Android apps from Accessing Your Location

 

Click App permissions, thereafter Location.

Now you will get the list of apps with location permission enabled.

Stop Android apps from Accessing Your Location

The security apps like antivirus, mobile tracker will need the permission to recover your lost device. But there’s no use of giving the same power to the messaging apps (WhatsApp), social media apps (Facebook, Instagram, Twitter) and others. Drag the toggle button to the left or right to grant or deny permissions to them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *